St Michael's Grammar School stands in an idyllic setting overlooking Lough Neagh with panoramic views of the Sperrins to the West and the Mournes to the East. Founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1924 as an all girls' boarding school and formerly known as Our Lady's Grammar, Mount Saint Michael's, the present establishment became a co-educational grammar school in 1974, catering for students aged 14-18. Over the years many pupils have also transferred from other schools at 16+ to the Sixth Form to study A Levels, taking advantage of the wide choice of subjects available.
Whilst a small part of the school building dates back to 1924, much of St Michael's accommodation can be traced back to the early 1970's when a major extension and refurbishment programme was initiated. That major expansion programme, catering for the first time for the needs of boys as well as girls, included a wide range of subject- specific classrooms, a Canteen, Sports Hall and Sixth Form Centre. More recently a fully equipped, modern Technology Centre to facilitate the delivery of both GCSE and A Level was added. Well-maintained tennis courts, all-weather pitches and extensive playing fields complement the internal facilities externally.
The school has just been authorised by DENI to undertake a major Conditions Survey as a first step in updating or replacing our accommodation and facilities so St Michael's will be very well placed to provide the best for its students in the Millennium.
Down through the years St Michael's boasts an impressive record of attainment in the academic, sporting and cultural fields. It is justifiably proud of its seventy-five year history and of the illustrious achievements of its many present and past students.